The Sheri-D Wilson Golden Beret Award


$1000 Prize

Submit a One Page Letter by:

The League of Canadian Poets
Attn: Golden Beret Award
192 Spadina Ave., Suite 312
Toronto, ON M5T 2C2

Or email:
Subject: Golden Beret Award

The League of Canadian Poets and Calgary Spoken Word Festival are thrilled to present the 8th annual Sheri-D Wilson Golden Beret Award.

The recipient will be announced in April as part of National Poetry Month and the Calgary Spoken Word Festival! The award will be presented at the League of Canadian Poets Annual Poetry Festival and Conference in June. The recipient will receive a prize of $1000.

This $1000.00 annual award was created by Sheri-D Wilson—a pioneer of spoken word poetry in Canada—to honour a Canadian spoken word artist who has made a substantial contribution to the development of spoken word, through the originality and excellence of his or her own writing/performance works, and through involvement in— and contributions to—the expansion of the spoken word community. The Golden Beret Award was first presented at the Calgary Spoken Word Festival in 2007.

The selection committee will evaluate candidates based on the following qualities:
    1.   Originality of creative process,
    2.   Mastery of the genre,
    3.   Innovation and quality of writing,
    4.   Use of new technologies,
    5.   Contribution to community,
    6.   Openness and Inclusiveness of diverse voices.

This year’s jury is: Tanya Evanson, Ian Ferrier & Sheri-D Wilson.

The League of Canadian Poets is the professional organization for established and emerging Canadian poets. Founded in 1966 to nurture the advancement of poetry in Canada, and the promotion of the interests of poets, it now comprises some 700 members. The League serves the poetry community and promotes a high level of professional achievement through events, networking, projects, publications, mentoring and awards.

The Calgary Spoken Word Society, which presents the Calgary Spoken Word Festival, is a non-profit organization whose mandate is to showcase local, national & international artists; to present culturally diverse works; to offer innovative and progressive approaches to literacy; and to give voice to under-represented communities.


Previous Recipients

2013 – Tanya Evanson (Vancouver, BC)
2012 – Kirk Miles (Calgary, AB)
2011 – Ian Ferrier (Montréal, QC)
2010 – Wendy Morton (Victoria,BC)
2009 – Lillian Allen (Toronto, ON)
2008 – Sarah Murphy (Calgary, AB)
2007 – Murdoch Burnett (Comox, BC)


For Information:
The League of Canadian Poets: or 416-504-1657
Or Sheri-D Wilson @ 403-686-4292